Data as of October 30, 2026 (ADHS) and October 1, 2026 (CMS)
How many licensed assisted living facilities are in Catalina Foothills, AZ?
Catalina Foothills (ZIPs 85718, 85750) has 8 licensed assisted living centers and 11 assisted living homes on the ADHS roster as of October 30, 2026, licensed for 964 residents in all, plus 2 CMS-certified nursing homes.
| Catalina Foothills at a glance | Catalina Foothills | All of Pima County |
|---|---|---|
| Assisted living centers | 8 | 53 |
| Assisted living homes | 11 | 257 |
| Licensed assisted living beds | 964 (13.1% of county) | 7,366 |
| Licensed for directed care | 18 | 296 |
| No deficiencies at latest rated inspection | 7 of 17 | 136 of 295 |
| CMS nursing homes | 2 | 24 |
Where is Catalina Foothills, and what is it like for older adults?
The Catalina Foothills is the unincorporated community on the lower slopes of the Santa Catalina Mountains north of River Road, from Oracle Road east to Sabino Canyon. Like Casas Adobes it uses Tucson mailing addresses, so its facilities appear on the state roster as Tucson.
Which assisted living centers are licensed in Catalina Foothills?
8 assisted living centers in Catalina Foothills hold ADHS licenses for 854 residents; the largest is Brookdale Santa Catalina (155 beds, supervisory, personal (140), directed (15)), and 7 of them are licensed for directed care.
| Facility | Licensed beds | Service levels (beds) | License # / expires | Latest ADHS inspection | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brookdale Santa Catalina 7500 North Calle Sin Envidia, Tucson 85718 | 155 | supervisory, personal (140), directed (15) | AL1742C to May 31, 2027 | July 16, 2026 | No deficiencies |
| River Centre Assisted Living 5665 E River Rd, Tucson 85750 | 112 | supervisory, personal (112) | ALC20057 to August 19, 2027 | August 19, 2026 | Not stated |
| Hacienda at the Canyon 3900 North Sabino Canyon Road #1 & #2, Tucson 85750 | 108 | supervisory, personal (68), directed (40) | AL11264C to September 30, 2027 | April 6, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
| Atria Campana Del Rio 1550 And 1580 East River Road, Tucson 85718 | 100 | supervisory, personal (84), directed (16) | AL8344C to April 30, 2027 | June 1, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
| Sunrise at River Road 4975 North 1st Avenue, Tucson 85718 | 100 | supervisory, personal (59), directed (41) | AL8741C to April 30, 2027 | April 20, 2026 | No deficiencies |
| Tucson Place, Assisted Living & Memory Care 5660 North Kolb Road, Tucson 85750 | 99 | supervisory, personal, directed (99) | AL10878C to October 31, 2026 | January 15, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
| Avista Senior Living Tucson 3701 North Swan Road, Tucson 85718 | 96 | supervisory, personal, directed (96) | AL12706C to November 30, 2026 | April 14, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
| Hacienda at the River 2720 East River Road, Tucson 85718 | 84 | supervisory, personal (43), directed (41) | AL10271C to February 28, 2027 | May 29, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
Which small assisted living homes are licensed in Catalina Foothills?
11 assisted living homes in Catalina Foothills are licensed for 110 residents; the longest-licensed is Starfish Care Homes, LLC (since August 2012) and the newest is New Chance Enhanced Assisted Living (first licensed June 2026).
| Facility | Licensed beds | Service levels (beds) | License # / expires | Latest ADHS inspection | Result |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canyon View by Platinum Care Homes 1331 East Sobre Lomas, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL11969H to September 2, 2027 | December 2, 2025 | Deficiencies cited |
| Desert Gardens Ed LLC 3700 North River Hills Drive, Tucson 85750 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | ALH20114 to September 8, 2027 | August 29, 2025 | No deficiencies |
| Desert Gardens Ed LLC 5475 North Hacienda del Sol Road, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | ALH20115 to September 8, 2027 | August 29, 2025 | No deficiencies |
| Hacienda de Luna Assisted Living 1310 East Ina Road, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL10429H to June 30, 2027 | November 18, 2025 | Deficiencies cited |
| Hacienda de Luna Assisted Living LLC 1330 East Ina Road, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL13124H to June 30, 2027 | November 18, 2025 | No deficiencies |
| Hacienda de Luna Assisted Living LLC 7150 North Camino De Fosforo, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL12038H to October 17, 2027 | November 18, 2025 | No deficiencies |
| New Chance Enhanced Assisted Living 1730 E Skyline Dr, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | ALH20316 to June 18, 2027 | May 11, 2026 | Not stated |
| River Rose Senior Care LLC 4416 North Camino Real, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL13272H to October 16, 2026 | February 26, 2026 | Deficiencies cited |
| Skyline at Mina Vista Assisted Living 5910 North Mina Vista, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL11507H to May 20, 2027 | October 28, 2024 | Deficiencies cited |
| Starfish Care Homes, LLC 6611 East River Hills Place, Tucson 85750 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL8789H to August 31, 2027 | October 8, 2026 | No deficiencies |
| Truval Assisted Living Home 4445 North Pontatoc Road, Tucson 85718 | 10 | supervisory, personal, directed (10) | AL9174H to August 31, 2027 | November 8, 2023 | Deficiencies cited |
Where is memory care (directed care) available in Catalina Foothills?
18 facilities in Catalina Foothills are licensed for directed care, Arizona's license level for residents with dementia who cannot recognize danger or direct their own care: 11 small homes and 7 centers with 348 directed care beds on their licenses.
Every directed care license in Pima County →
What have ADHS inspections found in Catalina Foothills?
AZ Care Check lists 82 inspections of Catalina Foothills's licensed assisted living facilities, 43 of them (52%) with deficiencies cited, against 52% county-wide; 52 included a complaint investigation, and 10 facilities have an enforcement action in the last three years.
Most recent inspections in Catalina Foothills that cited deficiencies: Brookdale Santa Catalina (July 8, 2026, complaint + compliance (annual)); Atria Campana Del Rio (June 1, 2026, complaint + compliance (annual)); Hacienda at the River (May 29, 2026, complaint); Avista Senior Living Tucson (April 14, 2026, complaint).
Which nursing homes serve Catalina Foothills, and how does CMS rate them?
Catalina Foothills has 2 CMS-certified nursing homes: Brookdale Santa Catalina (42 beds, CMS overall 3 of 5); Haven of Tucson (118 beds, CMS overall 3 of 5).
| Nursing home | Certified beds | CMS overall rating | CMS health inspection | CMS staffing | Last standard survey | Health deficiencies (last survey) | CMS # |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Brookdale Santa Catalina 7500 North Calle Sin Envidia, Tucson 85718 | 42 | 3 of 5 | 3 of 5 | 4 of 5 | August 27, 2026 | 5 | 035253 |
| Haven of Tucson 3705 North Swan Road, Tucson 85718 | 118 | 3 of 5 | 3 of 5 | 1 of 5 | April 21, 2026 | 6 | 035165 |
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Provider Data Catalog – Nursing Home Provider Information, data as of October 1, 2026. Star ratings shown are the official CMS Five-Star ratings.
What should families know about senior care in the Catalina Foothills?
Foothills senior care has a higher share of large assisted living centers and continuing-care campuses than most of Pima County, and fewer ten-bed converted houses than the flatter neighborhoods to the south and west, where lots and zoning make conversions easier.
Expect hilly, spread-out campuses and longer drives between buildings, which matters for residents who use walkers. River Road and Sunrise Drive are the main east-west routes; Oracle Road and Swan Road connect to midtown hospitals.
What does assisted living cost in Catalina Foothills, AZ?
CareScout's 2025 survey reports Arizona as a whole: $6,185 a month is the state median for assisted living and $8,365 a month for a semi-private nursing home room. Facilities in Catalina Foothills set their own rates, so compare written quotes rather than any Catalina Foothills average you see online.
Arizona cost medians and how families pay →
Assisted living centers vs. homes in Catalina Foothills
| Centers (11+ residents) | Homes (10 or fewer) | |
|---|---|---|
| Licensed in Catalina Foothills | 8 | 11 |
| Total licensed beds | 854 | 110 |
| Median beds | 100 | 10 |
| Licensed for directed care | 7 | 11 |
| No deficiencies at latest rated inspection | 2 of 7 | 5 of 10 |